

Congratulations to the Alaska Head Start Association 2017 Awards of Excellence Winners!

Parent Awards	Name (Head Start Program)
Beating the Odds Award	Lakesha Jordon (Thrivalaska)
Head Start Father of the Year	Doug Walrath (Kawerak)
Head Start Mother of the Year	Emelina Haring-Furment (Kids' Corps Inc.)
Staff Awards	Name (Head Start Program)
	Kimberly Brown (CCS Early Learning)
Administrative Support Staff of the Year	& Marti Corpuz (CCTHITA)
Assistant Teacher of the Year	Fanny Kuzuguk (Kawerak)
Bus Driver of the Year	Benjamin Tompkins (FNA EHS - HS)
Content Area Specialist of the Year	Kelsey Beecher (Kids' Corps Inc.)
Cook of the Year	Lori Allen (FNA EHS - HS)
Early Head Start Teacher of the Year	Kattie Lee (Kids' Corps Inc.)
Family Advocate of the Year	Janice Uisok (RurAL CAP)
Head Start Director of the Year	Mark Lackey (CCS Early Learning)
Home Visitor	Michelle Thompson (RurAL CAP)
Maintenance Staff of the Year	Ginger Ameigh (CCS Early Learning)
Teacher of the Year	Thong Lor (Kids' Corps Inc.)
Community Awards	Name (Head Start Program)
Community Advocate	Debi Baldwin (RurAL CAP)
Corporate Award	Providence Alaska Medical Center (Kids' Corps Inc.)
Humanitarian Award	Charmaine Lundy (Kenaitze Indian Tribe)
School District Collaboration	Alaska Gateway School District (Tanana Chiefs Conference)
Other Awards	Name (Head Start Program)
Cultural Awareness	Kenaitze Yaghanen Youth Program (Kenaitze)
Leadership	Emily Urlacher (Kids' Corps Inc.)